Monday, January 02, 2006

Regrouping of parishes in the diocese of Saint-Jean-Longueuil, QC

On August 1, 2005, Msgr. Jacques BERTHELET, bishop of the diocese of Saint-Jean-Longueuil, QC, signed a decree grouping several parishes into a Pastoral Unit (Unité pastorale de Maricourt) known as MARICOURT. The parishes affected are St-Isaac-Josques, St-Jean-de-la-Lande & St-Thomas-de-Villeneuve.
Other parishes that were regrouped into a Pastoral Unit (Unité pastorale du Littoral) known as LITTORAL are: Ste-Anne, St-François-Xavier, St-Laurent-du-Fleuve, Ste-Théodosie & Ste-Trinité.
A dedree dated September 26,2005, that became effective October 2, 2005, dissolved the following parishes: Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption, Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs & St-Jean-Eudes. Their territories will be covered by the parish of Sainte-Marguerite-Bourgeois.
By a decree dated November 22, 2005, that became effective November 27, 2005, Saint Monica parish was dissolved & the territory it covered will now be served by St. Thomas More parish.
The article is signed by Father Jean-Pierre CARMERLAIN`, Chancellor & appeared in the December 2005-January 2006, Volume 36, No. 3 issue of ACTUALITÉ DIOCÉSAINE. The article is in French. The translation is mine. You may have a jpg copy of the article by writing to me at: